skip to main content
Department of Music
The University of Mississippi

Soprano Bonita Bunt has worked as soloist, stage director, and stage manager for multiple opera companies, festivals, schools, and workshops. She recently joined the faculty of the University of Mississippi as Director of Opera and Assistant Professor of Music. Favorite roles include the Queen of the Night, Zerbinetta, Tytania, Edith in Pirates of Penzance, and Giannetta in Elixir of Love. She holds a doctorate in voice from the University of Nevada, Las Vegas, completed a graduate certificate in Vocology, and is pursuing licensure with the Association for Body Mapping Education.









Associate Director of Bands, Director of Athletic Bands
Visiting Artist, Opera
Director of Orchestral Studies
Photograph of Music Education Professor and Graduate Program Coordinator Dr. Rhonda S. Hackworth.
Music Education, Graduate Program Coordinator
Visiting Voice Instructor
Voice, Collaborative Piano
Music Education, Assistant Chair
Piano, Collaborative Piano
Director of Choral Activities
Director of University Bands
Photo of Kristi Boggan
University Band Administrative Secretary
Photo of Leigh Jackson
Administrative Assistant
Photo of Cara Matlock Jones
Choral Activities Administrative Secretary



  • Robert H. Aubrey
  • Laurdella Foulkes-Levy
  • Andrew C. Fox
  • Wade J. Irvin
  • Cynthia F. Linton
  • Robert D. Riggs
  • Stacy D. Rodgers
  • Alan Linder Spurgeon
  • Debra Lea Spurgeon
  • D. Warren Steel
  • Ronald F. Vernon
  • David Willson